Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Senator McDougle Receives 2019 Lederman Vision Award
Share |

Ryan McDougle Receives 2019 Lederman Legislative Vision Award

VSEPS Recognizes Senator McDougle’s Leadership with COPN Reform


The Virginia Society of Eye Physicians and Surgeons (VSEPS) presented its Ira Lederman “Legislative Vision” Award to Senator Ryan McDougle (R-4), particularly for his leadership in efforts to reform Virginia’s Certificate of Public Need (COPN) program. The presentation was made on September 18, 2019, at the offices of Richmond Eye Associates in Mechanicsville, VA.


Named for long-time VSEPS Board member and past president  Ira Lederman, the award is presented to legislators who demonstrate exceptional leadership and effort on health care policy that positively impacts patient access to quality care.


The award was presented to Senator McDougle at Richmond Eye Associates (REA) in the Senator’s district in Mechanicsville, Hanover County. Dr. Barry Roper, past VSEPS president and retired REA partner, introduced Senator McDougle with current REA partners, staff and patients in attendance, along with the VSEPS government affairs team from Commonwealth Strategy Group.


Senator McDougle is a proven leader in the Commonwealth, serving as the Chairman of the Virginia Senate Majority Caucus and the Senate Rules Committee. VSEPS recognizes Senator McDougle to focus on his leadership in the Senate on healthcare reform, specifically his efforts to address the state’s COPN program, an outdated set of laws that raises healthcare costs and limits patients’ options.


COPN reform is a top priority for VSEPS and the physician community. During the 2019 session, Senator McDougle introduced SB 1614, which would have exempted ambulatory and outpatient specialized centers or clinics that provide ophthalmic, urologic, or endoscopic surgery from COPN, and created a new permitting process for ophthalmic surgery and services.


In his remarks accepting the award, Senator McDougle reinforced the need to reform COPN by injecting free-market principles, patient choice, and provider competition with the goal of increasing healthcare access and reducing costs.


The efforts of Senator McDougle and his colleagues have resulted in a professional mediation process convened by Governor Ralph Northam and chaired by Secretary of Health and Human Resources Dr. Dan Carey, with participation from key healthcare stakeholders. We are hopeful this progress will lead to meaningful reform, and we thank the Senator for his important, commonsense approach to helping providers and patients.


In recognition of his leadership, VSEPS is honored to present Senator Ryan McDougle with our Ira Lederman Legislative Vision Award. We congratulate and are grateful to Senator McDougle!


Pictured from left to right, Alan Chandler, MD; David Bowman, MD; Barry Roper, MD; Senator Ryan McDougle; Daniel Greene, MD; Harold Bernstein, MD; Bryan Brooks, MD


Community Search
Sign In